Nepal Sanskrit University

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr


Nepal Sanskrit University was formally established as Mahendra Sanskrit University on 25th Mangsir 2043 with the aim of making Sanskrit Education accessible along with imparting spiritual values and ethics in Sanskrit Literature.

With the aim of developing, it as a centre for institutional and level development of Sanskrit University, the university was started by King Mahendra Bir Bikram Shah and established by King Birendra Bir Bikram Shah. In 2043, the Mahendra Sanskrit was established after an Act as the second national University of Nepal, but after Nepal was declared a Federal Democratic Republic Country, the university was renamed ‘Nepal Sanskrit University’.

Nepal Sanskrit University offers Intermediate, Bachelor, Master and Doctorate programs in Classical and Modern Subjects. It offers courses in the fields of Sanskrit studies, Ayurveda, Science, Education and Research. It also offers degree and non-degree research and training in Sanskrit, Yoga training, and Vedic and Buddhist Teaching.

The University aims to produce qualified scholars for national culture’s welfare and competent manpower meeting the national and international needs of Sanskrit, Ayurveda, Yogic Science, Jyotishi, and Naturopathy. It also provides classes for subjects like Nepali, English, Mathematics, Economics, General Education and Political Science for keeping up with the needs of time and the nation.

Faculties of Nepal Sanskrit University

The faculties of Nepal Sanskrit University are listed below:

  1. Faculty of Sanskrit
  2. Faculty of Ayurveda
  3. Faculty of Science
  4. Faculty of Education
  5. Faculty of Research

Programs Offered

All programs offered by Nepal Sanskrit University are;

Faculty of Sanskrit

Certificate (Uttarmadhyama) Levels Programs:

  1. Uttarmadhyama (2 Years)
  2. Prak-Shatree (1 Year)
  3. Setu (1 Year)

Bachelor (Shastree) Level Program:

  1. Shastree (3 Year)

Master (Acharya) Level Program:

  1. Acharya (2 Years)

Faculty of Ayurveda

Certificate (Uttarmadhyama) Level Programs:

  1. Yoga and Naturopathy Training Programme (1 Year)
  2. Ayurveda Health Assistant (2.5 Years)
  3. Ayurveda Uttarmadhyama (3 Years)

Bachelor (Shastree) Level Programs:

  1. BAMS (6 Years)

Masters (Acharya) Level Programs:

  1. Ayurveda Acharya (1 Year)

Faculty of Science

Certificate (Uttarmadhyama) Level Program:

  1. Science Uttarmadhyama (2 Years)

Faculty of Education

Bachelor (Shastree) Level Programs:

  1. One Year BEd (1 Year)

Faculty of Research

PhD Level Program:

  1. PhD (2 Year)

Non- Degree Short Term Training:

  • Sanskrit Language Training
  • Sanskrit For Foreigners
  • Karmakanda Training
  • Yoga and Naturopathy Training

Important Bodies of Nepal Sanskrit University

  1. Exam Controller Office
  2. Institute of Ayurveda Studies, Office of the Dean
  3. Nepal Sanskrit University Service Commission Office
  4. Nepal Sanskrit University Research Centre
  5. National Cultural Studies Centre
  6. Nepal Sanskrit University, Institute of Architectural Studies

Constituent and Affiliated Colleges

The Constituent and Affiliated Colleges of Nepal Sanskrit University are:

  1. Pindeshwor Vidyapeeth (Campus), Dharan, Sunsari
  2. Bishweshwar Prasad Koirala Sanskrit Vidyapeeth (Campus), Solukhumbu
  3. Janak Hajari Vidyapeeth (Campus), Janakpur
  4. Yagyavalkya Laxminarayan Vidyapeeth (Campus), Matihani
  5. Valmiki Vidyapeeth (Campus), Kathmandu
  6. Bhanu Sanskrit Vidyapeeth (Campus), Tanahun
  7. Kalika Sanskrit Vidyapeeth (Campus), Gaidakot, Nawalparasi 
  8. Binduwisini Sanskrit Vidyapeeth (Campus), Kaski
  9. Central Ayurveda Vidyapeeth (Campus), Dang
  10. Janata Vidyapeeth (Campus), Dang
  11. Vishwavidyalaya Vidyapeeth, Beljhundi, Dang
  12. Ruru Sanskrit Vidyapeeth, Janakpurdham, Dhanusha
  13. Sharada Vidyapeeth, Mahendra Nagar
  14. Harihar Sanskrit Vidyapeeth, Khidim, Arghakhanchi
  15. Radha Damodar Sanskrit Vidhyapeeth, Keladighat Shankhar, Syangja
  16. Mahesh Sanskrit Gurukul Vidyapeeth, Devghat, Tanahu
  17. Saraswati Sanskrit Vidyapeeth, Manigram, Rupandehi
  18. Sanskrit Vidyapeeth, Dharan
  19. Uttam Dhanwantari Ayurveda College, Rauthat
  20. Nikhil Ayurveda Medical College, Demsite, Pokhara
  21. Janak Ayurveda Medical College, Janakpurdham, Dhanusha
  22. I.H.R Development, Janakpurdham, Dhanusha
  23. Kapilvastu Multiple Campus, Kapilvastu, Taulihawa
  24. Jagadamba Ayurveda Medical College, Gaur, Rauthat
  25. Lumbini Brihaspati College, Siddarthnagar, Rupandehi
  26. Active Academic College, Basundhara, Kathmandu
  27. Banepa Campus, Kavre
  28. Everest Multiple College, Attariya, Kailali
  29. Panchthar Multiple Campus, Fidim, Panchthar
  30. Mithila Ayurveda College, Janakpur
  31. Parshuram Sanskrit Mahavidyalaya
  32. Research Center, Kathmandu
  33. Paramananda Sanskrit Gurukul Vidyapeeth, Devghat, Tanahu
  34. Bageeshwari Adhyatmik Parisad, Devghat, Chitwan
  35. Patanjali Ayurveda Medical College and Research Centre, Dhulikhel, Kavre

Where is Nepal Sanskrit University Located?

The central office of Nepal Sanskrit University is located in Beljhundi, Dang.


This blog “Nepal Sanskrit University” discusses the faculties, programs, constituting bodies, and constituent and affiliated colleges of Nepal Sanskrit University in detail. All updates from the university regarding Notices and Results will be updated on the Notices and Result webpages of our portal Gurubaa!!

Write A Comment